In many countries television shows many foreign-made programmes. The dominance of imported entertainment is harmful to the cultures of these countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many countries enjoy watching international television programmes. In my opinion, this has had a positive effect on people and cultures, for the following reasons.

The first area it effects is education. Surprisingly, international TV shows somewhat help many people to gain more knowledges, children tend to learn some basic academic things from their favorite cartoons, for example, counting numbers in Sesame Street. As well as the young people, the adults can also learn more on language literacy from the news, for instance, BBC provides a lot of evidences in English.

Another area if effect is entertainment. It seems that people rather choose to watch the international TV shows than local because it contains a better quality, including both filming and content. Also, they are sometimes likely to be more creative, in which can be huge positive influence to young adults and many others. This can be example as music shows that bring out a lot of talent people to the world.

Last but not least, it is obviously that by watching variety of international TV shows, people can explore experiences and culture through them. For example, I tend to watch documentaries to help me understand more about other culture and how they live like the traditional Maori in New Zealand. Another example is the news that help people to keep up to date with what is happening worldwide.

All in all, I feel that globalization of television shows actually bring people together. People would be more in common with each other if more countries adopt international programmes.