In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this has had a negative effect on their health.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that these days opinion is divided over whether the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of the previous generations. Medical practitioners and parents say that this has a negative effect on their health. I will look at both opinion in the below essay and offer my point of view.

Firstly, eating habits and lifestyle changes are a by-product of technological advancement and the busy lives that we lead as a society. In olden days, though we ate healthy food there are a lot of people who have led a sedentary lifestyle as well. Though teenagers survive on fast food and prefer cola to water, they also spend a lot of time exercising and engaging in sports compared to the generation before. There are also a lot of healthy fast-food options that children are aware of through advertisements and social media. These days people are very conscious about how they look and carry themselves that a lot of importance is given to what and when they eat.

While eating habits in teenagers have improved in a few countries, the percentage of obese people in US, UK and China have increased. This is mainly because of the price of food that has been offered to them. The cost of vegetables and grocery has gone up and as a result, people chose to buy fast food that is available for a cheaper price. And, since everyone has a busy work life they prefer to eat the ready-made food that can be bought a block away than an evening cooking healthy dinner at home.

In my country, the eating habits and lifestyle of people have shown a major improvement. These days people are willing to shell of lot of money at gym and aerobics centre. The tend of eating out is slowly declining as people choose to eat healthy at home these days.

By ways of conclusion, looking at the above essay, we can conclude that eating habits and lifestyle are entirely dependent on the individual. However, in the grand scheme of things, the advantages of leading a healthy lifestyle outweigh the disadvantages.