In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Living alone or in small family units have been becoming a frequent subject of debate with strong arguments for and against. From my viewpoint, I contend that this is a downward movement for some reasons

First, since dwellers have no longer live together in a family, it weakens the strength of members’ relationships. In fact, grandfathers or grandmothers could not converse with their children as they used to. Besides, children live without parents’ supervision is problematic. In term of studies, they feel free to do what they want in lieu of obeying with parents’ demands. They show less interest in sharing their thoughts or issues with parents. As a result, lacking consideration from members of the family, children could face the possibility of depression, autism, etc.

Secondly, this trend could be a new social threat if extended families completely discarded. The older generation confronts with the challenge of living a poor life, even turning into homeless. Without careness, and help from families, the government takes responsibility for improving their life via social welfares: household, pension, medical care services. However, the problem of land for more housing becomes complexed. By virtue of the rapid increase in urban population is the main reason for the serious shortages of housing, the national officials have to destroy forests for building large dwellings for citizens.

In conclusion, it could not be denied that societies have a penchant for living alone, I completely believe that staying in a large group does bring them enormous values.