In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays according to some surveys, there is a trend that an increasing number of people choose to live in a small nuclear families which normally include parents and kids.

From where I stand, the causes that lead to this phenomenon are as followings. Firstly, it is the first priority for a surging increase of young people to pursue work and life in cities while their parents still want to smaller cities or countrysides to live. Secondly, with the fast development of society, values and lifestyles differentiate between the youth and the old. It is a better choice to live separately so they won’t argue a lot in daily life. Thirdly, we are living in an aging society. With the better care and advanced equipments for the old, they can enjoy life in a way which they are fond of.

This trend has been causing some problems that attract people’s attention. From one hand, to some degree, family estrangement is arising especially the relationships between grandparents and their grandsons because of fewer connections. On the other hand,more and more older people are surrounded by loneliness.

Compared with the lifestyles between small nuclear families and extended families, I think it is a positive development to live in a small nuclear families. Firstly, people can choose the lifestyle that they like instead of sacrificing their life to families. Secondly, since we realized the generation alienation as distances and values, we can take actions to solve problems such as more visit and arranging more family activities.Last but not least, followed by incredibly houses prices, there will be less pressure for people when they live in a small nuclear families.