In many countries today there is insufficient respect to old people. What are the reasons? What problems might it bring to the society?

It is sad but true that in the recent times, in many countries around the world, it is observed that there is a serious lack in respect towards the elderly people. There are a few observations for the causes; and also it is feared that such impoliteness may give rise to some grave social issues. Both, the reasons as well as the problems are elaborated further.

Examining the root causes the most obvious is today’s social infrastructure. The social layout is largely to be blamed as most children grow up in nuclear families where both parents work. Resultantly, there is a lack of bonding and almost no time to teach the young the moral lessons and the much needed etiquettes. It is also true that nowadays, families hardly interact with the extended family members on occasions and thus children do not observe the courteousness respect and reverence shown to the elderly members and grandparents. Besides this, there is no doubt that materialistic possessions are more important for today’s young people. They have no time and patience to understand how important it is to show respect to others.

However, if the situation is not sincerely controlled, it can lead to several challenges. The biggest problem would be tan moral degradation in young people respect is one of the most essential virtue in any individual and especially respecting the elderly members for their sacrifices, hard work and difficulties that they had been through in their lives. If this is missing, we may create an impolite and a rude society. Most importantly, the young people would fail to pass on the quality of respect to the next generation and therefore they will suffer when they become old.

To summarise the discussion lack of respect towards the senior members of the society is a great concern. If this continues, society would have selfish members; and to avert this, parents must teach their children the lessons of morality and importance of respect.