Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Many countries make use of non-renewable natural resources to supply their energy demands while others challenge the convention by encouraging people to consume alternative resources. In my opinion, this change is a good start that enables people to achieve sustainable goals.

The consumption of traditional fossil fuels emits a large amount of carbon dioxide that can speed up the global warming process. Carbon dioxide is one of the main greenhouse gases that retain radiations from the sun. The large amount of this gas in the atmosphere is one of the preconditions for heat interactions. Reducing the sources of this greenhouse gas can lessen radiations from the sun, retarding global warming. Therefore, sustainable development can be ensured if people change their behaviours regarding their energy resources consumed.

When people make use of fossil fuels, they have to extract these resources from natural landscapes. The extraction of these resources can create negative impacts on the environment. For example, pumping oil out of reservoirs may reform the formation of soil strata under the ground. The change of soil and rock formations may encourage the eruption of inactive volcanos. These activities can be the starting points of many earthquakes. Therefore, they can destroy human habitats, forcing people into poverty and starvation problems.

Finally, combusting fossil fuels releases toxic chemicals that affect the health of human. Emissions from conventional fuels contain mercury that can create serious health problems for women who are pregnant. The inhalation of this toxic chemical leads to the deformity of their babies. Thus, traditional energy resources can also cause health problems for people.

In short, switching from fossil fuels to other alternative resources is a good way for people to achieve their development goals for decades to come.