Many educators believe that international exchange trips are beneficial for students. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, a variety of students are taking international exchange trips into consideration, as they are convinced of the beneficial reasons behind this, which are advised by experts. Personally, I agree with this but I have never underestimated potential drawbacks when students themselves actually integrate into those brand-new experiences in reality.

On the one hand, international exchange programs are of immense benefit that are obvious to students. Ever since they set foot on one foreign country, everything then will become opportunities which contribute to accommodate students with a rich linguistic environment. That would be wise seizing this ideal chance to mingle with indigenous people, to get to know about their unique cultural traditions. The edge, after these trips, exchange students will have over other candidates when entering workforce is the aspect of being globally minded. This open mindset descends from having access to various cultures across multiple continents as well as embracing cultural diversity; alongside, these global citizens also get actively involved in world-wide most daunting challenges in which problem-solving strategies with a novel vision are possibly devised.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefits, encountering some obstacles to assimilating a new living environment is really challenging. Students may go through the preliminary stages of frustration, confusion and anxiety due to cultural discrepancies; in the worse case, for example, they constantly find themselves longing for their hometowns then they can be tormented by the feeling of being socially marginalized. In addition, victims of gender discrimination, particularly racial prejudice can be badly damaged in terms of mentality.

In conclusion, benefits are paired well with drawbacks when it comes to international exchange trips; therefore, discretion are advised.