Many fathers today stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What are the causes of this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the past, a traditional perception accepted by numerous people is that the duties of woman are to look after her home and that of man is to go to work. Nevertheless, this insight gradually becomes no longer suitable in the modern time; that is, today, more and more females turn to breadwinners whilst their husbands doing the chores, caring for their children are stay-at-home fathers. In order to make clear the circumstance above, this essay will indicate some reasons as well as give the idea of whether this trend is beneficial or not.

The causes as follows explain why this tendency has happened these days. Apparently, one of the obvious facts is that there have been more and more opportunities for women to approach better educational settings, thereby assisting them in enhancing their own abilities and gaining success in their career path. Notably, in recent decades, it is not difficult to recognize many female persons achieving great achievements in diverse fields, or having important positions at famous corporations, especially being appointed as leaders of governments. Moreover, we have to agree that thanks to the development of technologies, a large amount of heavy manual work and household chores have been finished with the help of machines, whereby persons can save a plenty of working hours. Owing to this reason, mothers today are likely to have more time to invest in the workplace so as for supporting their families in terms of financial aspect.

My stance is that accounting for the practice mentioned, I am of the view that this tendency is an essential promotion in the developed society. This means that each person has the right to contribute to maintaining a content family by their own methods, regardless of different genders. The more persons having an open mind about the awareness of gender equality, the more individuals will have chances to explore their strength and weakness points so that they are able to choose tasks or roles appropriate for them. By doing this, people’s lives will grow more civilize, and effects stemming from respecting different situations in life as well as genders will continue bringing lots of merits because this is the era when citizens can utilize their capabilities via varied ways.

From what I have mentioned above, I can draw a conclusion that despite having many arguments with respect to the responsibilities of males and females to their families, I assume that this practice is referred to as switching the roles between parents when men become house husbands while women do the business is a positive expression of modern life.