Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

It is evident that processed food and drink goods that contain high levels of sugar harmfully impact our health. Therefore, it is suggested to levy higher price for sugary products in order to reduce public sugar consumption. I strongly concur with the statement because the idea of making high sugar products more expensive can significantly change people's behavior and increase their health status.

To begin with, making people pay more on manufactured food and beverages that contain high levels of sugar will reduce the potential of the development of many chronic diseases such as obesity, diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease. This statement are confirmed by the study conducted in the USA that sweet diet was significantly associated with the raising incidents of obesity and type 2 diabetes mellitus. Additionally, the study also calculated the potential increase in cardiovascular disease cases related to the high number of obesity and diabetes mellitus. Thus, applying higher cost in sugary products will make people more selective in choosing their diet and hopefully can also reduce their sugar consumption.

Furthermore, imposing higher price in sugary products will also impact people preference in healthy products. A study in Indonesia revealed that taxing more in sugary products consequently increase the sale of wholesome products either those which priced cheaper or at the same price at 3 to 5%. This phenomenon shows positive impact of increasing unhealthy products price to the change in people's behavior and awareness in maintaining their health status. Thus, the government should considering more taxes on sugary products in order to make people choose healthy diet.

To sum up, imposing higher price in sugary meals and beverages can be very beneficial for preventing chronic diseases and increase public behavior and awareness about choosing healthy diet.