Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that many museums and historical sites are more attractive to foreigners than people living there. This essay looks at some justifications and suggests some solutions to the problem.

One of the main reasons why people are keen on travelling to strange places is to expand the knowledge of history of local areas. The historic values are crystallized in the tangible objects which are displayed in museums and historical places. Therefore, visiting museums is a necessary action tourists have to take if they care about history. By contrast, local citizens assume that they are familiar with things showed at historical places through either the historic lessons in schools or somewhere in daily conversations. Moreover, the low quality of some historical sites in some countries is also a cause of assisting in a decrease in the number of domestic visitors. For example, imperial mausoleums were damaged by external factors such as bad weather and wars over hundreds of years. As a result, local citizens are not interested in spending time on journeys to museums in their areas.

However, there are solutions to this problem. Firstly, marketing is an effective way to attract many domestic tourists. In fact that the knowledge of what happened to their forefathers is unlimited and there are still many historic events that the next generations have not yet known. Advertising helps them to grasp those lacks. Secondly, governments should invest much more budget in improving quality of historic places such as repairing damaged historical infrastructure. As a result, there would be more and more local people reckon that the local museums and historical sites are also as interesting as those of foreign.

In conclusion, the lack of interest of domestic people in historic sites should be concerned considerably. The best approaches to deal with are the advertisement and the financial aid for the local sites.