Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There exists a weird phenomenon in the tourist industry that visitors of famous tourist attractions such as museums and historical sites normally do not come from local but from another region or country. There are many factors why local people are not willing to visit and few measures can be implemented to deal this this issue.

On the one hand, one of the reasons why local residents would not hang out at those tourist attractions simply because the ticket price are too expensive to afford. Many of them hold that the same amount of money could be saved for other meaningful activities. However, the management cost and maintaining expenses does require a lot of revenue to balance, thus the ticket price stays the same all the time, resulting proportion of local visitors hovers at a relatively small amount. Furthermore, many citizens have already lose interest and got used to the existence of these tourist sites, hanging out at this place seems like a waste of time, besides, these buildings would be sardine-packed with visitors which means it’s hard to take a good look at the exhibits.

However, measures can be taken to resolve these issues. From the governments ’perspective, funds and investments could be poured to support the improvement and maintenance work of these tourist attractions, thus lowering the total ticket price. Installation of air conditioning and ventilation system can create a refreshing environment for the visitors. On top of that ,activities and campaigns related with festivals and social events could be held in those museums and historical sites to attract more attention. In the year 2017, a campaign held by group of feminism at Eiffel tower had drown thousands of local citizens flock to that place,and the peaceful protest soon caught much attention within the whole county, bringing more tourists to Eiffel tower .

In conclusion, high ticket price ,poor conditions, as well as the content of these spots are the main reasons that drive local people away from their historical sites, whereas improvements and efforts of the whole society can surely fix that problem.