Many museums charge for admission while others are free.Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

These days, museums can be great assets in transferring the culture and art of the bygone nations to enthusiastic visitors. Many museums have entrance fees, which can bring along some drawbacks. However, I think the advantages of this are far greater than the disadvantages.

The money earned from selling tickets can be put to good use. Since, in many cases, a limited budget is allocated to museums or art galleries, this money can be spent on the expenses of running the museum itself. Take the costs of storing the artefacts in appropriate conditions, for example. Or even it could be used for modern security systems such as alarms or surveillance cameras, which can play a great role in the safety of the precious items kept in the museum. Furthermore, the revenue will provide a chance of buying new artefacts and expanding the museums' list of properties.

However, charging people for admission can affect the number of visitors. Being forced to buy tickets, many people, especially the ones from lower-classes of society, will think twice before visiting a museum or may even give up the whole idea. As a result, a group of people would lose the chance of learning about countries' history and culture, which does not seem fair. Nevertheless, several measures, such as providing coupons for the museum entry or decreasing holidays' entry fees to the minimums, can be taken to tackle the problem.

To conclude, although charging for museums can have some downfalls, with proper management and planning, the money can bring a lot of benefits