Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that many ex-prisoners continue to break the laws after being released back into the community. Although there are convincing reasons lie behind this, steps would be possibly taken to alleviate the situation.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that prison would not be the best solution of all for tackling crimes. Since prisoners are often mixed with other criminals, they would acquire a chance to listen to their stories of committing crimes, which in turn exert detrimental influences on those minds leading to the situation where they would turn to even more serious crime after imprisonment. Besides, a notorious criminal record would be another reason for those ex-prisoners to commit offenses. They find it desperate to seek for new jobs after serving long prison sentences without qualified skills and knowledge which meet the requirements of employers. Some would deliberately break the laws by illegally doing wrong such as robbery or even murder to obtain money to make their ends meet.

On the other hands, there are in fact possible solutions for this to avoid those who have been back from prison from encountering the same mistake. Non-custodial punishments would be implemented for those who do not commit the severe crime. Instead, governments and policy-makers would follow policies which are soft on crime such as fines, probation orders or community service orders in which they could contribute back to the community. Educational or vocational training would be also implemented in order to provide prisoners with needed skills ready for the comeback into society. This would increase the opportunity for those ex-offenders to look for employment after reintegrating back into the community.

In conclusion, imprisonment is not the ultimate approach for offenders to ensure they would not continue to break the laws post-prison, non-custodial sentences or educational training would be even more effective.