Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nations history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is true to the fact that quite a number of historical structures are still governed by the country but some people contend that they must be demolished to build new infrastructure. In this essay, I shall site the importance of preserving old buildings and discuss that history is not a hindrance on a country's development.

It is ubiquitous in many countries to have a unique place, usually heritage site, for them to show the world about the people and places they have in the past as well as the abundance of their culture. Maintaning and protecting these ancient buildings will help future generations to have a vicarious experience of the past events through the remaining artifacts. For instance, the historical Great Wall of China, the only man-made structure visible on outer space as an urban legend says, not only depicts the borders made by Qin dynasty to protect their country from outside invaders but also tells the sufferings of forced laborers who sacrificed their lives to finish the wall. As a result, the Great Wall became one of the famous tourist destination in the whole world portraying the brilliant minds of the ancient people creating a beautiful and magnificent architecture that lasts for centuries.

Meanwhile, some people believe that some ancient structures must be replaced as they think that these buildings can delay or hinder a country's progress. Inspite of their reasons, these infrastructure plays an important role in a country making a great contributor to its development, and they must and always be protected as the present and future designs are shaped from the past by the story and architecture embedded in it.

In conclusion, though some people think that ancient buildings must be replaced, it is greatly important to preserve them as a treasure to the future people for them to understand the past and make their own development.