In many parts of the world children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why do you think it is the case? How should children and teenagers be punished?

It is true that many parts of the world have witnessed the increase of juvenile delinquency, and there could be several reasons for this trend. In my view, young criminals should be punished according to the crimes they have committed.

There could be two main reasons for juvenile delinquency, and one key factor is lack of parental attention. Some irresponsible parents, for example, neglect either material or emotional needs of their children. Some of these children tend to resort to some petty crimes, such as shoplifting, pickpocketing, in order to satisfy their desire to expensive toys or fancy snacks, while some youngsters who lack emotional attention from their parents may be indulged in binge drinking or even doing drugs. Indeed, young people may lose control under the influence of alcohol and drugs and commit crimes. On the other hand, too much exposure to violent or sexual TV programs and video games is another factor. Young people can easily access to these unhealthy resources via internet than ever before and may probably imitate the content out of curiosity, without realizing the serious consequences.

I believe young criminals should be given fitting punishments based on what they have done. Firstly, compulsory community services or a fine would be an appropriate penalty for those who commit petty crimes, or for first-time young offenders. Secondly, people who commit a more serious crime, such as robbery or theft should be punished with custodial sentence but to be imprisoned away from adult offenders. Finally, violent young criminals, such as murderers, terrorists or rapists should be treated as adult criminals and serve a long term prison sentence.

In conclusion, I believe several reasons could account for the phenomenon of more crimes committed by the young the reasons why the young are committing more crimes) and they should be punished accordingly.