Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common that people devote more their time to work than before. In this essay, the major causes and effects of this phenomenon will be analyzed in depth.

The primary reasons are the competitive working environment in the market in these days. In order to improve products’ quality and reap more revenue and profit, the employers have set many more targets and higher requirements for their staff. Moreover, there is a fact that employers always in a state of replacing incompetent workers or even those who are inadequate effort. As a result, the employees have to devote more their time and energy in order to not only meet their managers’ expectations but also make an attempt to show a good performance so as to keep their bread and butter.

Nonetheless, there are various unfavorable impacts stem from this phenomenon. One of the important negative effects is that their mental health is prone to stress, depression, anxiety disorder. Working constantly under pressure without proper breaks triggers major negative consequences such as heart attack or insomnia. On top of that, time for their families and friends is not sufficient which results in damaging family relationships. Living alone without caring and interaction with their families is also leads to depression or even suicide ideation in several individuals.

In conclusion, People are eventually successful in their job at the cost of damaging relationships with their families and health problems. If people do not have a proper working schedule, they will be suffered plenty of life issues.