Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism on their teachers. Others think it will lead to loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and

Opinions are divided on whether two-way communication in classes can result in disrespect and indiscipline or

allowing students to evaluate or criticize their teachers is the way to improve education quality. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.

I understand why some people believe that students who are given permission to assess the teachers can lead to the lack of respect and discipline in the classroom. From their point of view, students are immature and inexperienced, they can easily give negative words to their teachers when it comes to argument. For instance, they can make false answers on their tests, but insist that they are right, this lack of knowledge can make them lose tempered and criticize their teaches. Another point to be made is that teachers are considered as authority figures in the classes, so that everything they say is true. If any students give comments to teachers, they will be seemed as a disrespectful person in academic environment.

Nevertheless, I still side with those who believe giving students the freedom in expressing their thoughts and feelings to teachers could enhance the quality of education. This is due to the fact that this interaction could boost students’ critical thinking and improve the level of comprehension of lessons. For example, the teachers may teach too fast that students are not able to understand; in this case, thanks to learners’ responses, teachers could adjust their speeds and so that students could fully retain the knowledge. Another reason to be given is that teachers can improve their teaching skills. Some teachers do not carefully prepare the content of lessons may provide wrong information, and feedbacks of students could help them find out their mistakes and self-correct. Since then, the learning and teaching quality are both have the improvements.

In conclusion, despite knowledge why people think giving comments can lead to possibility of disrespectful and undisciplined attitudes among students, I hold the belief that we should encourage students to judge their teachers to increased educational quality.