Many people believe children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, this is a common narrative that children should begin acquiring a foreign language as soon as possible. In my opinion, I partly agree with it because although children benefit from mastering a foreign language for more opportunities in the future, it also poses another problem when they soon forget what exactly their own mother language is.

To start with, due to the ongoing globalization as well as domestic increase of foreign investment, it is undeniable that second language is becoming more popular in developing countries. Numbers of lucrative jobs now require English’s qualification, such as Ielts, SAT. Even in the education field, more gifted schools are not only being established with sufficient infrastructure, new teaching techniques but also need a particular level of second languages as well as other subjects. Consequently, students or graduates can have more opportunities if they become proficient in using foreign language. Therefore, learning a foreign language as soon as possible benefits children much in the long run.

On the other hand, studying forein language too soon poses one problem about the mother language to children. Paying all attention to the second language, young kids cannot take notice of the mother language due to their limited abilities. As a rule of thumb, they will gradually forget their own mother language passed down from generation to generation. Hence, the national identity soon vanishes if the young generation keep forgetting them.

In conclusion, children take advantage of gaining a foreign language early for more opportunities in the future; however, they also have to deal with the mother language issue.