Many people believe that criminals should be imprisoned others however say they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community Discuss both view and your opinion

Whether life sentence or death penalty over criminal acts has become a controversial question in modern times. Speaking of which draws entire nation’s interest, because protests and social campaigns are also held in multiple regions in this regard. Criminals should be kept behind bars for the entire life is a subject which is both supported and refuted by many. In this essay both sides of the argument will be analyzed before a viable conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, it is commonly known that crime cases are significantly rising globally, and so do the threat to lives of innocent citizens. For instance, a recent survey conducted by BBC showed that out of total deaths per year, death due to murder in the New York city have soared dramatically from 8% to 40% in last 10 years. Undoubtedly, this can be stopped only when a criminal gets either instant death penalty or lifetime jail without any mercy and payroll; it would not only discourage a criminal but masses will have strong faith in the law system. Therefore, it is easy to see why the argument of criminals should be put behind bars has garnered some support.

However, on the other the side of this argument it must be remembered that all criminals cannot be treated with same course of imprisonment penalty when crime intensity is minor. For example, in my country India, police department encourages few criminals to participate in social welfare and unpaid charity during the jail period, which encourages a criminal to be responsible and law abide by citizen. That means when the crime is not really serious, an opportunity should be given to criminals to do social service and to be better person further in life. Thus, this makes it clear why the argument of criminals should serve unpaid work could also be plausible.

In summary, both sides of argument regarding imprisonment for the crime have strong support. However, after analyzing both the camps, it is clear that all criminals cannot be punished with the fix penalty of imprisonment. A course of punishment should be decided as per the severeness of the crime that individual attempts. It is predicted that due to advancement in technology and law enforcement system, crime rate will be surely slashed in the future.