many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.
What is your view of educational achievement?
It goes without saying that examinations play a crucial role in assessing the
educational results in most countries. One of the common types of examination is
the customary test with pen and paper. Although it is not stranger to students,
this test is still considered unsuitable these days, according to some adverse
impacts that it brings about.
The main function of formal “pen and paper” examination is believed to revise
students’ knowledge throughout the learning process; however, its consequences
are not as beneficial as people expect. Most examinations nowadays include such
theoretical questions resulting in rote learning because they are often
predictable. Therefore, students mean to use this passive way of learning in order
to get a high mark. However, it will prevent them from understanding the essence
and thinking how to solve problems themselves. Moreover, the unemployment
rate is also an effect of theoretical exams which have no practicality. Students will
totally be jobless if they can not put knowledges into practice. Nowadays, besides
the degree, having experience is also an essential demand for employees to get
jobs.
In addition, traditional examinations can not measure students’ abilities exactly
because each student has his own strengths. Some are good at writing but others
express themselves much better verbally. Hence, schools need to have various
formats to assess students. For example, oral exams, not only to measure
students’ knowledge but also help them cultivate their presentation skill.
To sum up, formal “pen and paper” examinations have considerable drawbacks
that need improving. It is also essential to find suitable ways to assess students in
overview.