Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is you views of examinations?

Nowadays, the suggestion that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best process for determining academic achievement has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the suggestion may bring about several drawbacks, I am of the opinion that there should have some alternative methods.

It is undeniable that paper tests can bring a variety of benefits to evaluating students’ learning processes. First and foremost, written exams tend to be one of the most convenient and time-saving to assess pupils’ educational attainment. This is because they can be organized extensively within the city or across the country. Nevertheless, examination papers can be predictable, which makes scholars have a tendency to learn lectures perfunctorily.

Although it seems almost impossible to replace paper tests, there may be some other ways to achieve it. One solution is for teachers to assign some projects related to the knowledge of lessons, which can allow learners to apply theory to practice and stimulate their creative skills. At the same time, teachers should assess pupils' school performance by commenting on their entire learning process. As a result, not only teachers can have a better understanding of each learner’s learning situation but also students have to attempt throughout the study process, not just when doing exams.

In conclusion, while there may be reasons to support keeping examination papers as the only process for appraising educational achievement, I strongly believe that the proposed approaches would be better at making a comprehending and fair assessment of both scholars' efforts and capacities.