Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors Discuss both views and include your own opinion

It is believed by many people that happiness depends upon external factors, whereas others claim it is a state of mind and is a responsibility of an individual. From my point of view, I strongly believe that people can become happy only by themself.

On the one hand, it is considered that only the ability to take control of emotions and state of mind will give happiness and satisfaction to a person. And I agree with that since positive thinking moments, love itself, the way of thinking defines the mood of a person. In other words, if person thinks positively, removes bad things and abusive people from its life, practising meditations, a one’s mind may fill up with happiness. As an example, Kyoto University, one of the most famous universities in Japan, conducted a research which showed that 10 minutes of meditation per day gives a satisfaction for all day.

In contrast, others think that external factors are more crucial for their joy. Firstly, weather had a great impact on our state and mood. For example, there are some individuals who are pessimistic and feel sick during rainy days. Another factor is material goods: people dream about fulfilling their desires such as a job with a high wage, expensive car or family. Generally, these wishes are imposed by society, where these goods are considered as valuable. So, since people are social creatures and crave for approval of others, they employ these dreams in real life. Thus, they believe satisfaction would come only after achieving their external aims.

In conclusion, despite the fact lots of people think that happiness depends on other factors, I reckon that bliss can be achieved by internal state.