Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons/Solutions to change negative attitudes?

It is widely argued that global tourism has an adverse impact on the destination countries so the issue should be considered carefully. Some causes for this problem can be identified and I believe that solutions must be applied to resolve some of the serious consequences which have arisen.

Two primary reasons that are associated with the negative impact of international tourism are closely related to the local residence’s environment and tradition. From the natural perspective, a large number of visitors from other countries are the cause of polluted environment. It is true that tourists are often under the awareness of disposing waste in the available trash bins and clearing litter over places that they have been to. Many famous beaches in Vietnam such as Mui Ne, Nha Trang, or Vung Tau have been ruined by this lack of respect for the communal environment. International tourism is also considered as a bad thing for its undesirable influence on the local traditional values and customs. In Vietnam, it is very easy to find foreign tourists with provocative behavior and fashions, which would in turn lead to the imitation of regional young dwellers.

Various solutions should be taken into account in order to address the concerns of the local people. First, for impeding the environmental harmful impact, government should force strict regulations regarding tourists’ insensitiveness on throwing garbage. Publicly posting friendly and funny signs such as “Welcome to the cleanest beach in Vietnam” or “Hi, you’ve just visit the BLUE destination!” also gives ways to avoiding visitors’ ignorance toward protecting the environment and urge them to respect the local culture and custom. Regional residents’ minds toward international tourism should also be changed in favor of the benefits it brings about so that the more foreign visitors come, the more job opportunities it create and the higher the nation revenue is.

In conclusion, it seems to us that although global tourism results in some detrimental development, it is possible to call for resolutions from national bodies and local community.