Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes

In the controversy of the effect of international tourism, many people claim that it does harm to resorts and destinations in their country. While there is a strong case for this view, solutions need to be applied to some of the problems which have arisen.

From my perspective, there are 3 primary reasons why indigenous people express no consent to foreign tourists. The first reason I would like to mention is the environmental damage. It can not be denied that tourism has remained staying in the top line of hot industries all over the world and the number of travels has shown no signs of abating, especially intercontinental ones. As a result, the amount of waste that is littered at travel spots has been remarkably augmenting. Sometimes, artworks are not even intact since some people carve or gash them, which is one of the most frustrating issues occurring to local citizens. Moreover, cultural exploitation is also the reason why natives think global tourism has a debilitating influence on their nations. We definitely can not oppose the financial contribution of tourism; however, it leads to the fact that the government has focused more on beneficial spots that the original beauty of destinations, such as scenic spots, heritages… has been refurbished for commercials. The last reason is the poor behavior of visitors. In some cases, foreigners misunderstand the culture of the country they visit, they even do actions that show rudeness and no respect towards natives and the culture.

All the above may be the most irritating issues that indigenous people have confronted with. Therefore, solutions have to be come up with to resolve those troubles. Regarding the first issue, the government needs to step in and put in place measures and policies to protect and conserve the nature and environment including plants, animals, heritages,... In the matter of the second problem, the authorities had better put forward methods to boost the national economy and coincidently preserve the initial beauty of nature. In terms of the third problem, I think cultural misunderstanding is the core reason, so having a general grasp of one culture before visiting it is not only a prerequisite for avoiding culture misapprehension but also enhances cultural exchanges.

In a nutshell, international tourism’s wreaking havoc on one nation has been demonstrated. Nevertheless, it actually has both sides and to my thought, the positive side surpasses the another. Hence, drawbacks have to be coped with emergently and thoroughly for the benefits of the country in general and residents in particular.