Many people believe that it is important to always tell the truth In your opinion is it ever acceptable to tell a lie Explain your answer giving reasons and specific examples

Nowadays it is common to think that always telling the truth is the best choice in order to be completely transparent and honest towards the person you are referring to. However, there are conflicting opinions among people about what is better between telling the raw truth or a white lie.

There is no doubt that human relations should be based on truth and therefore on respect.

In fact, from an early age, our parents have educated us by following this ethical value and thus regulating our relationship with them and later with the outside world, in particular with friends and colleagues. Honesty plays a fundamental role in everyday life, both in the economic sphere, which we know is based on trust and in social aspects.

Frequently telling the truth can be considered an act of courage especially when it causes unpleasant feelings or even psychological pain.

On the other hand, in specific circumstances, I reckon that in order to protect the person we are referring to, we necessarily have to resort to a white lie. Principally I am referring to those cases where invasive treatment is required due to serious health problems. Unfortunately, not everyone is able to deal emotionally with a life-threatening situation, so that a lie can metaphorically be a refuge that gives relief.

Despite everything, scientific studies have shown that telling the truth has a positive effect on health.