Many people believe that it is important to protect the environment but they make no effort to protect it themselves Why do you think it is the case What actions do you think that individuals can do to protect the environment

It is true that environmental deterioration has posed a threat to the survival of mankind. In spite of the intense media coverage over environmental protection, only a few people actually take any realistic actions to protect it. This essay below will analyze some factors leading to this, and effective measures should be produced soon to tackle this issue.

To begin with, one of the major reasons for this phenomenon may involve the misconception that individual actions cannot contribute to the environmental conservation. Owing to the lack of professional knowledge, many people have no idea that their careless daily behaviors could have a severe impact on our planet. This point can be demonstrated with the case of some people using packaged products excessively, while most of packages are made in plastics. However, plastic is a non-degradable material and It takes more than hundred years for to be degraded. Additionally, some are not willing to abandon convenience and effectively brought by high-end products despite various negative effects. The excessive use of private cars, for instance, has increased the amount of carbon dioxide and other fumes emitted into the atmosphere. As a consequence, our environment has been damaged seriously and people will suffer from many health problems.

In order to encourage more practical individual efforts towards environmental protection, various measures should be adopted. First of all, people can lead an environmentally-friendly lifestyle by flying less, by using bicycles and public transport instead of private automobiles to cut down the emissions. The second solution I should mention is individuals should choose disposable products to reduce the harmful effects of non-degradable material. Meanwhile, the government should subsidize environmentally friendly products to make them cheaper and more widely used.

In conclusion, environment contamination, if not solved properly, may cause detrimental impact on the development of human society. Therefore, it is crucial for individuals to shoulder the obligation to protect the environment.