Many people believe that playing games and watching TV programs is beneficial but others say it doesn’t improve mental ability of children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children's front-runners for leisure time nowadays are to sit in front of a screen playing video games or watching TV instead of spending time outside to socialize and play. The widespread of this issue has raised various concerns among the public, with many believing in the positivity of this trend while others suggest the opposite. In my opinion, I agree with the latter argument due to the detriments over-usage of electronic devices can have on an individual's health and social life, explained in the following paragraphs.

The first drawback of the mentioned entertainment is their absence in promoting the physical actions needed for a kid's normal development. Such inadequateness is because of the minimal movements required to use a handheld device, as designers want to maximize the efficiency of their leisure products, causing them to eliminate any possible "distractions" that can disrupt their customers' experiences. Therefore, youngsters with unregulated screen time can be glued to the screen for hours non-stop if left unchecked, leading to deterioration in their muscles due to the lack of practice, resulting in consequential effects on their fitness.

Moreover, excess time spent on these leisure choices can have negative impacts on the mental development of children. The reason for this is the sedentary lifestyle ensuing from over-allocating time to recreational activities, which can hazardously affect the growth of juveniles, particularly socially. This is achieved by hindering their abilities to develop the necessary social skills, for instance, teamwork and communication, on account of their sparse interaction with people, rendering them severely incomplete, as the lacking of these crucial cooperation skills can harshly impede their advancement in life. TV and computer games over-dwelling will consolidate these deficiencies, negatively influencing many aspects of children's life.

In conclusion, over-exposure to TVs and electronic games will have drastic consequences on the development of the youth. Parents or responsible people are heavily advised to control their children's gadgets usage.