Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.To what extent do you agree?

Advocates believe that social networks bring bliss and convenient to both individual and society. However, I would argue that its negative impacts outweigh the positive one.

Recently, MeToo, a global movement against sexual harassment and sexual assault, began with the hashtag MeToo on Twitter, spread virally through social networks, is a prominent example of social media positive effects. By connecting people and equipping them a voice, social media have become a global force for plurality, democracy and progress.

However, these very same platforms are accused of undermining democracy and becoming an invaluable tool for politicians seeking office. Firstly, social media giants spread fake news, which reinforces political polarisation and create bubbles feeding bias information confirming their existing belief. A study published in Nature 2012, determined that around 340000 people probably turned up to vote in the congressional election of 2010 as a message appearing on their Facebook, and were likely to do so if any of their friends shared the call-to-action. Also, the 2016 US presidential election result has been in dispute as fake new wildly spread throughout its campaign. Secondly, social networks violate users' data privacy right to make a profit. By using smart technologies like AI, big data, machine learning to study massive data collecting from its two billion users, Facebook nowadays can enable campaigns to manipulate voters by group sharing similar interests and profiles by saying different things to different groups without anyone recognising.

With regard to each individual, social networks are believed to associate with the increasing ratio of mental illness and emotional issues. These platforms exacerbate anxiety and depression, deprive users of sleep, exposed them to hate speech, extreme contents, creates worries about their body images, and fear of missing out. These problems seem to be particularly severe among frequent users. An investigation conducted by social scientists at Humboldt University and Darmstadt's Technical University found that the root causes that the most prevalent emotion aroused by using Facebook is envy. Endlessly comparing themselves with friends who have doctored their photograph, and amplified their achievements can leave Facebook users be green with envy.

Once hailed as the promoter of freedom, social network these days are instead attacked for many reasons including damaging democracy, violating user's privacy and undermining people well-being. We should consider carefully whether to decrease our time spending on these platforms or not.