Many people believe that social networking sites Such as facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Many people hold the opinion that social media platforms have harmful effects on not only individual level but also societal level. Personally, I partly disagree with the argument.

On the one hand, social networking platforms have some harmful effects on human and society. Firstly, if we spend too much time on social network sites, we do not have time for other more necessary activities such as studying and working. For example, nowadays in Vietnam teenagers are addicted to surf Facebook, they just go online all day instead of studying. As a result, since they do not concentrate on studying, they may not achieve high score in class. Secondly, there are a lot of fake news on the internet, especially on social networking sites, which may send wrong information to users. For instance, some people share wrong information about Corona virus on Facebook that people do not need to wear mask at public places because it is not necessary. This leads to more difficulties in preventing the COVID-19 pandemic.

On the other hand, there are several considerable benefits that social network platforms provide for users and society. Firstly, social media has desirable effect on people as they enable users to share and exchange their knowledge each other. For example, an automobile group on Facebook has many technical topics that members may discuss and exchange their experience. Without social media, people would not be able to stay connected to others to share their knowledge easily, which leads to information could be share to community. Secondly, social media platforms support online business since they allow salespersons to sale their products conveniently. In addition, customers have more choices to shopping effortlessly. This was never the case in the past when people had to go to the store for clothes, food, electrical devices, etc.

In conclusion, although social media bring enormous benefits to both individuals and society, they also cause many serious problems that need to be solved.