Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Several people are of the opinion that individuals as well as society are exploited by social media. From my perspective, I totally agree that it have a negative effect on people.

First of all, social media hampers emotional bonds. Because everything is conveyed through texts digitally, which can stunt expressions, ingenuity is lost when people who would ideally visit one another to convey greetings only send text messages instead of hugs. Therefore, people can perceive that in-person communication is no longer important as they can express their intentions through the message. Taking my younger cousin for example, the frequent use of facebook, instagram, messenger cause him social anxiety disorder and difficulty to show emotion in front of those around. Little by little, social connections will be affected severely by human’s social media abuse.

Furthermore, an actual situation occurred on the network sites is bullying, which is also called cyberbullying. Cyberbullying is that bullying an person or a group of people through the use of technology or any electronic communication devices with negative words aiming to mentally attacking and intimidating. Consequently, bullied people are likely to be influenced with mental illness such as anxiety disorders, depression disorders, self-harm and even suicide. According to a 2016 report from the Cyberbullying Research Center, while 33.8% of students between 12 and 17 were victims of cyberbullying, 11.5% of students between 12 and 17 indicated that they had engaged in cyberbullying in their lifetime. Cyberbullying has become a crime appear regularly on social media.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that social network platforms have passive influence on not only a person but also society. Thus people should make effort to harmonize their use of social networking sites in order to minimize its disadvantages.