Many people in big cities nowadays choose to live very far from their workplaces. What are the reasons for this trend? Is it a positive or negative development?

We live in an age when many people have a tendency to live far from their workplaces. There are two main reasons behind this trend, and personally, I think this is a positive development overall.

The first cause leading to this phenomenon is the expensive living costs. Most companies are usually located in big cities, where a lot of people cannot afford to buy or rent an apartment. They have to spend a great sum of money on household expenses such as electricity, natural gas, food, and the Internet... which are always much more expensive than on the outskirts. Besides, traffic congestion, air pollution, and society's vices are also the reasons why many people choose to live far from their offices.

I believe that it’s a positive development, despite that there are some drawbacks in terms of traveling. For example, it usually takes a few hours to go to work and go home, not to mention the energy to drive after a long working day. However, in the long term, this change will encourage the suburban economy and society, which is underdeveloped compared to city centers. The fact that people in big cities tend to live far from their workplaces also helps to subtract vices and solve other problems like air pollution, high population density... in metropolitan areas.

In conclusion, I think this is a positive change in the long run, although it’s quite inconvenient for people to get used to it at the beginning.