Many people can be seen in shopping malls in their free time.

Why do they do so?

What is your opinion on this practice?

Shopping is an integral part of our social activities. The introductions of shopping malls have further incited more people to spend time and shop in large malls. Eventually, it is wise to assess this behaviour in the social, economic and environmental factors.

There are several reasons for this behaviour. First, the improvement in today’s transport system has increased mobility, which eventually enables more people to travel easily to shopping malls, either by car or by public transports. Secondly, malls are often designed to cater to all the customer’s needs in one place. The wide spectrum of product choices, ranging from food to clothes and even customer services, contributes to the growing tendency of locals to visit shopping malls during their leisure time. Most significantly, the large commercial centres stimulate socialization. Strolling around a mall with friends or families has become a popular practice, especially among youngsters who like to make use of all the activities most malls have to offer, such as the cinemas. Besides, the sprawling urbanization in many countries has led to a decline in the recreational land for the residents. Thus, shopping malls become their best place to relax.

To me, leisure time can be spent in numerous ways. Whether one should spend one’s free time in shopping malls remains a subjective topic. Shopping malls entail many benefits that make our lives more convenient. It is thus justifiable that the practice of shopping thrives in today’s socioeconomic world. Yet, it is also hard to overlook the escalating number of people going to commercial centres, often not to purchase goods but to simply kill their extra leisure time. This reflects the extent to which our society has turned inadequate in providing the citizens with the very basic element of life – a place to amuse. Retrospectively, people would spend their free time in various activities such as sport, clubs and family gatherings. Today, it is fair to argue that these choices have mostly been narrowed down to technology and shopping, particularly in developing and affluent nations.

Importantly, we should vary our leisure time to other activities, which will wholesomely contribute to our own well being. Yet, in a consumerist society, shopping in the commercial stores is an inevitable practice. That being said, I remain neutral to this form of entertainment.