many people go to university for academic study. more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. to what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, there has been a large debate about the orientation upon graduating from high school. While I agree that more people should be encouraged to attend vocational training courses due to low tuition and demanding job, I do not neglect the need for university graduates in some special careers and priority recruitment jobs

On the one hand, there are various reasons why school-leavers should consider vocational training as the ideal choice. First, it helps people lessen the burden of family finance. That learning at university takes at least four years to be completed in comparison with 2-year vocational training is obvious. The less time people spend on studying, the less money they have to pay for education. Secondly, the demand for blue collar jobs is extremely urgent when most of the essential works in the society highly depend on this workforce. For example, as a part of modernization process, an unprecedented volume of new infrastructure is being built in some developing countries, and this can not be done without the contributions of manual workers.

On the other hand, pursuing academic studies at university still eventually surpass a vocational training in future achievement. First of all, some specials jobs such as doctors or teachers required many formal qualifications that have to be trained for a long term. For example, If a doctor were not taught about human anatomy at the university by successful professors, they would lack basic knowledge and cause detrimental health effects to the patients. Second, a variety of firms these days have preferred a university graduate employee than a physical labor. This results in the unemployments of a large number of people who attended vocational training.