Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post. TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does. Do you agree or disagree?

The advent of the Internet and advanced technologies, the ever-increasing demand for innovative ways of delivering educational materials have currently fueled the popularity of so-called distance education. Putting it in comparison with the traditional systems like colleges or universities, I believe e-learning, despite its outstanding benefits, cannot outweigh the traditional in some ways.

On the one hand, correspondence courses via the Internet appear to be a promising solution to lifelong education. Firstly, that distance learning programmes presenting multimedia-based learning materials raises learner's interest and engagement. E-learners could gradually get access to a huge source of knowledge more easily through lessons conveyed by videos, images, etc. Moreover, a self-paced learning environment is what students can only find in distance courses, rather than in traditional ones. This helps to ensure that learners move forward only when they have already had a good grasp of what they have learned. Additionally, e-learning offers its customers a student-centred model. This means students are ones who decide what they learn and how to think, putting them in a position of responsibility for their own learning.

On the other hand, there exist some deficiencies that hinder the dominance of e-learning over classroom-based learning. Initially, distance education lacks the possibility of providing students with immediate feedback or support. This can leave learners with confusion and an unthorough understanding, which might even lead to a gap in their knowledge. Furthermore, such necessary social skills as leadership and cooperation, which are well cultivated in traditional classrooms, appear to be a shortage when it comes to e-learning. Lastly, as a result of restricted face-to-face interaction, e-learners might have a slim chance of building up their own social relationships like friendship or relationship between teachers and students. These could contribute a lot to motivating students, making them as essential as learning.

In conclusion, distance learning programmes have both pros and cons in comparison with classroom-based learning. Therefore, combining these two forms of education is an optimum solution, commonly referred to as blended learning. It requires buy-in from both teachers and students to make better use of distance learning and traditional one.