Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age.

Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that there has been an increase in the number of people getting married in their thirties and above. From my perspective, It is a beneficial social change since older parents are more likely to be financially stable and fully mature to raise their kids properly.

On the one hand, it is explicable why some people would oppose this new development. Firstly, health is one of the difficulties that need to be concerned about late marriage. It is believed that it would be more difficult for older women to give birth, and several health problems can occur to them during pregnancy. For instance, some studies have shown a greater chance of miscarriage in older mothers; in addition, higher blood pressure is also a concerning factor that can prevent the successful delivery of babies. Furthermore, there can be higher chances of their newborns facing more health-related risks compared to others.

Despite the aforementioned challenges, the positive benefits of getting married late are undeniable. In general, most parents in their 30s, already have a well-paid job and a stable career, which allows them to provide for their children with good healthcare and comprehensive education. By contrast, most parents who are in the initial phase of their career, usually run into financial difficulties if they have a child. Moreover, older parents are prepared to deal with some challenges coming along in building a family. To be specific, they are able to handle their children’s temper tantrums more effectively with patience and love.

In conclusion, although there are certain risks related to health complications, being a parent later in life may bring about several positives to not only the children but also the parents.