Many people prefer to communicate with their online friends than to socialize with people in their local communities. do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People are glued to their cellphones and tablets. They are constantly updating their status on social networks and checking out the photos and videos uploaded by their virtual friends. In fact, most of us now have more friends online than in the real world. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two major benefits when having more online relationships than real ones. Firstly, socializing online can help a person easily find another who shares the same preference. It is hard to have a friend with the same bobby in real life, but on social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram, just a click could help you encounter a whole group of people sharing the same common. Secondly, having virtual friends over the world can provide an opportunity for a person to broaden their horizons. They can learn about other cultures, languages, religious beliefs, and the like via adding online friends without traveling to that foreign country.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, I believe that the demerits are more significant than such merits. One reason for this view is that excessive communication with online friends can cause social isolation. Thus, people would fail to form close-knit and supportive relationships. Another reason is that socializing online is risky because it gives people chances to assume fake identities. Gullible and impressionable adolescents are likely to fall prey to cybercrimes.

In conclusion, although communicate with online friends has some advantages, I profoundly believe that their negative effects on a person are far more significant.