Many people say that we now live in ‘consumer societies’ where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion - {ATSPiDY}

Consumerism grants people a taste of the good life. Obviously, it is also engaged with material possession, earning money, and social status in society. However, some people believe that consumer culture might bring a vital role in order to improve lives. Although this is true, in my opinion, good life could not potentially affect by consumer culture.

Firstly, Consumerism has several positives which are engaged with a happy life. Moreover, happy life which is marked as acquire prestigious items or money may force people to work hard to increase their earnings. Thereby, creativity and innovation are flooding in their head as a motivational drive to earn more money. For example, the owner of an online shop who really wants to buy an iPhone uses several innovations in order to raise her sale. Secondly, the power of consumerism also affects trading among countries and then consecutively increases national domestic income. For example, demand for Japanese vehicles might rise export and also encourages the economic condition. Furthermore, those explanations above mentioned that consumerism is a stance for life improvement.

On the contrary, good living is not always linear with consumerism. Some people are willing to be selfish and unaware with surroundings. They may guide their behavior to satisfy pleasure with unlimited. This act makes them victims of their act; certain it is followed by unhappy feelings. For instance, chronic shopaholics never feel satisfied with their buying although they already shop for doubled even tripled in a month. Moreover, being highly concerned about what is needed might cause people less care of the environmental condition. They do not aware and think to spend their money for charity or donations for humanity probably.

Finally, the impact, good and bad, of consumer society might probably coin as a human choice for their live improving. I believe that every person already takes highly consideration before diving into consumer culture.