Many people think that bottled water should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, pollution caused by plastic water bottles has become more serious and ubiquitous across the globe. Therefore, many people believe that bottle-packaged water should be prohibited. I strongly agree with this idea because bottled water is not only expensive but also not environmentally-friendly.

On the one hand, some opponents of this idea may argue that bottled-stored water cannot be abolished due to its convenience. It cannot be denied that most water bottles are made of plastic, which was invented to replace other materials, such as heavy and inexpedient glass and pottery. Especially, in some hard circumstances, these plastic products are more useful. For example, when people have to go to forests or deserts where it is difficult to find drinkable water. Therefore, bottled water is considered a practical invention.

Nonetheless, the use of these products should be eliminated considering its devastating effects on the environment and high prices. Firstly, a new type of vessel which is rather slight, durable, environmentally-friendly, and able to reuse many times has been created

As a result, users can save more money when using this new product. For example, in Vietnam, people have to pay at least 8 thousand dongs for a single-use 500-milliliter water bottle while it only costs them around 100.000 VND for the new type like Lock & Lock’s inox container, which can be used for several years. Secondly, after being used, a large number of these plastic water bottles are thrown away instead of being cycled, which affects severely the environment since on average, a plastic bottle takes around 450 to 1000 years to decompose entirely. This leads to hard consequences, such as lacking clean water, polluted foods and vegetables.

In conclusion, owing to the above disadvantages, I believe that bottled water should be forbidden for good.