Many people today use their phone for sending text than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages or disadvantages?

Communication has changed compared to the bygone era as messages are preferred over calling and this is more evident among millennials. There are manifold reasons behind this paradigm shift in the use of technology but it leads to more demerits not only for people but also for society.

First of all, there are two prominent reasons why the preference for sending text has ameliorated compared to Calling. The most compelling is people's hectic lifestyle. As most people are working, they find it arduous to spare time to communicate on phone. The time difference around the globe makes the situation even worse. Therefore, people drop a message so that the receiver can reply according to their convenience. Secondly, the most countries texting is either free or costs a negligible amount of money compared to phone calls. For example, a text message in India is charged at ₹0.10 while call rates cost ₹2.50.

However, this trend of texting kith and kin is disadvantageous for people. Owing to such an attitude, bonding has drastically alleviated. This is because the lack of verbal conversation creates a lack of emotional attachment. Another point to consider is that texting might not be the best option to convey important or urgent messages. For instance, if a person sends a message during an emergency, it might remain unread in the inbox for a prolonged period of time. For this reason, texting is not suitable as it can create a detrimental situation.

In recapitulation, texting is in vogue as it is convenient in this busy life but there are chances that the emotions and bonding between the people might be lost and push them further apart.