Many stores sell organic fruits and vegetables (produce without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and herbicides) even though they often cost more than conventional fruits and vetgetables.

Why do some people prefer to eat organic food? Do you think organic food is worth the extra cost?

Nowadays, some people prefer to eat organic food instead of conventional food. Although I understand the reasons why people like them, but I think it is not worth.

Firstly, organic fruits and vegetables are safe for our body. Normal food has some chemical substances that can damage our DNA and cause diseases like cancer, hypertension, heart stroke and so on. Furthermore, production of organic food is less harmful for environment because there are no chemical fetilizers, pesticides and herbicides.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, the conventional food is better. It's also for our health if farmers obey scientific protocols when harvesting, so chemical substances can disappear or we can eliminate them by many different ways. Besides, it's waste to plant organic food. A certain area for raising normal fruits and vetgetables can produce more products than the one that plan organic food. These kind of plants need more soil, water, time and human resources. If we don't plant organic food, we will feed more people in the world, especially the poor and homeless. Today, goverment are prompting companies to improve their chemical products for agricultural so they won't exacerbate environmental problems.

Overall, eating organic food is good, but conventional food is better because it saves our resources and provides more food for the needy.