Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university to travel or gain work experience Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time

It is common for students to experience traveling or working for some time before initiating their tertiary education. I strongly support this view because of the benefits of this practice, which we will discuss in the essay.

First of all, taking a break from studies and experiencing the world gives students new perspective of life. It will give students some time to observe the world and analyse how their skills would help in making the world a better place. Because of this they can choose more appropriate high demanding and high paying careers. For instance, the computer science was in high demand few years back but, popularity of this subject is diminishing gradually and it is not trending anymore. If students takes a break and observe the job market, then these subtle changes in industry will appear using which they can choose appropriate career path.

Secondly, many organizations look for candidates with prior work experience because it will ensure the work ethic and team work of the candidate. In these competitive world it will definitely gives an edge to the applicant over the normal candidate. In addition to that, students get to understand work place communication and real work scenarios better. Take an example of Elon Musk, who worked as librarian in his gap year and learned the importance of Automation has changed the world with self driven cars.

To recapitualte, more and more people taking a gap year before starting their journey to the tertiary education. I strongly believe this is crucial not only for selecting their specialization in graduation but also bagging the high paying opportunities.