Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think is a good idea or a waste of time ? Give reasons for your answer and include any revelant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, taking a gap year has raised a controversial issue among learners around the world , this is due to various reasons ,mainly to travel,gain work experience or prepare for college. Despite that, many people state that it is just a waste year but I strongly agree that a year off might get better benefits for the students and I will discuss this topic further in the following essay.

In my opinion, one of the main reasons why students are choosing to take a break instead of going to college that to spend time to discover the new world, their hidden passion and develop new life skills by traveling to different places. While doing this, learners may have freedom to get along with their mind and think deeply about the future to find out what are their personal goals and understand themselves better.

Secondly, another major reason for students taking a break thay they can spend their time to do a certain job, volunteering to gain work experience. For instance, if a student comes from a poor family and does not have condition to go to college, finding a job is very important for the student to continue studying and help the family. In addition, few students take a gap year to prepare for college, to make some revisions and gain knowledge in the subject they are planning to study. This leads to better understanding the lessons in college easily .

In conclusion, I believe that taking a year off before going to college is a brilliant idea for learners and it is certainly not wasteful. It plays an important role identifying an appropriate job and expand their horizons .