Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you agree or disagree?

People are divided in their opinion about going to university right after high school or taking a gap year to travel or work to gain more useful experience. I will support the view that take a gap year will waste time, energy, and money.

One the one hand, going to university right after high school will help to preserve the huge amount of knowledge that you have memorized as a student and applying it to new university lectures will help you grasp advanced knowledge easily. Besides, your old friends who are at the same university level as you can easily discuss the lectures and help each other review and practice in-depth information together instead of discussing with the freshman. Moreover, a person who take a gap year will pass up the opportunity to enroll in a top school or favourite profession. A long time no study make them feel discouraged and under pressure .It lead to difficulty and have to spend more time to re-learn knowledge at school.

One the other hand, students take a year off before starting university, to travel or work in order to broaden their horizons and prepare for the future. They get to experience different cultures from many tourist destinations and learn more about life skills and while working, help them gain reality experience which is a factor in acquiring good skills to handle the job and more professional knowledge. For example, after having a lot of experience in life and work they will change in a more positive direction in both personality and way of working. they have a better perspective on life and have more patience to find the best way to tackle the problem.

To sum up, students who choose to take a year off to travel or gain work experience before starting university will waste a lot of time and gain very little useful experience.