Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What should be done?

It is true that more and more students have been struggling to focus on their lessons at school. This essay will look at the primary causes of this and suggest some possible solutions to this problem.

There are a number of reasons for the rising levels of children’s distraction at school. The first reason is that many students are distracted by various interesting things on social networking sites. Today, it is common for students to possess a smart phone or laptop and most of them tend to bring their cell phones to class. In particular, some of them spend their time playing games or chatting on Facebook on their phones instead of concentrating to the lectures. Another reason is children have poor diets. Many parents nowadays often have a hectic schedule at work so they do not have enough time to cook meals for their kids. This is why children have to opt for fast food restaurants for their meals such as KFC or Mc. Donald. As a result, excessive consumption of fast food could give rise to fatigue which makes it hard for them to pay attention on the lessons at class.

Nonetheless, there are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, children’s computer and Internet access should be restricted. Children should not be allowed to bring their phones to class. In doing so, they could have more time for their studies as their hours spent online are limited. Besides that, parents should also educate them about detrimental effects of spending too much time on sedentary activities such as playing computer games or browsing the Internet, which is harmful to their eyes and brain functions. Secondly, it is extremely crucial for parents to have a work life balance so that they can have time preparing healthy meals for their kids. They can make healthier shopping choices such as buying more food that are considered to essential for active brain functions, including fish, nuts or seeds.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the distraction of students at school and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.