Many things that used to be done in the home by hand are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays several household chores such as washing the dishes and sweeping the floors are being done by machines. While I accept that this has both benefits and drawbacks, I would argue that there are more advantages than disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when many people are becoming too dependent on technology. Firstly, people relied on the automatic machines might lead to sedentary lifestyle. For example, earlier people used to do all work at home manually, but, at present the rise of machines such as robotic vacuum cleaner allows people cleaning their house without any efforts. Secondly, some machines do not only consume a lot of electricity but also lead to serious health issues. For example, oven with high temperature can both destroys beneficial nutrient such as vitamin C and causes cancer due to heating food process.

On the other hand, I support the view of those who believe that the benefits of those products outweigh the disadvantages. First, electronic machines for house chores save plenty of times as gadgets do tasks in lesser time than humans. For example, washing machine can wash clothes faster than manual washing. Additionally, a user can utilize time and complete several tasks at the same time. For example, a person can bake a cake in an oven and wash clothes in a machine simultaneously. Finally, the convenience of being able to use automatic machines in household routines is the effective performance of work. Microwaves, for instance, can both set time and temperature to avoid overcooked or undercooked.

In conclusion, I consider that the advantages of these machines outweigh the drawbacks.