Many universities and colleges these days offer distance learning programs instead of face-to-face courses. Do you think the advantages of this new approach outweigh the disadvantages

Currently, the developing of technology follows a variety of its application in life. Among them is the deployment of the online classes, this form of class is used in many university and college and choose by many students. For me, this type is quite convenient, however, it still can’t be compared to traditional type of class.

Distance learning is a kind of class which students don’t need to go to the school, instead they just sit in front of a computer connected to the internet, and access the lectures. It can be easily seen that the benefits of this class is save us a lots: time, fuel (for traveling to class), money,… It doesn’t matter where you live, you can attend the class as you want. The learner are free in learning, they can decide when and where they do it, the speed of learning process. Because it’s your own decision so you can set up a comfortable space for learning, how many lessons you get a day… all of that make students study more effective. More, the fee of these classes is usually cheaper than the face-to-face courses, it is a great advantage of online courses. And if you don’t want to, or don’t have time for it, you can cede your course for other and release your money.

There are a several advantages of distance learning, and it also has some drawbacks. In my opinion, the biggest downside is student do not have interactive between them and teacher or other learner. It makes you lonely and isolated, you can’t exchange your ideas, your questions if you have some. More, without teacher and classmate to interact, you may be distracted, all of that impact your work.

In some cases, the lecturers of these courses may be listless, they do not offer the dedication for teaching, quality of the lesson is not guaranteed. Besides, this method requires technology and sometimes it may be complicated. This learning mode need a stable computer and network, people need to know how to use them, and if one of them fails like losing internet or hardware error, it is really trouble to learner.

In fact, there are many other issues of this approach, such as tuition, utility, popularity,... need to be improved and advanced. So, distance learning is an option for people with little time, studying in-service,... rather than it’s good. Offline causes, with their benefits, are still the best choice for studying.