Many young people today know more about international pop and movie stars than about famous people in the history of their country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

Nowadays, most youngsters have a tendency to have deep knowledge about celebrities instead of historic people in their own country. The reason for such an issue, in my point of view, is rather surprising.

I deem that due to the massive trend of idolism, fans, especially young people would like to have an insight into their idol. Therefore, they spend much time getting a sense of what the movie stars dressed or how much do those costs cause people to want to imitate famous people on styles and fashion. Because of that, less attention is paid to famous people in their history. Furthermore, it can be seen that history is not an interesting subject for the young. For example, in 2016, less than one-third of Vietnamese students chose history for the national graduation examination. this is an illustration of the reason why youngsters know merely nothing about historical people. this leads to the demand for a resolution for the issue.

So as to increase awareness of the young related to famous people in the country's history, I suggest that the government can promote this through films or movies that broadcast on TV. For instance, chinese moviemakers integrate the historical elements including the events and notorious people to chinese dramas such as the Empress of China whose plot is about the only woman in chinese history that ruled the country in the past. Another solution is that singers can use historical material for the songs. In such a method, teenagers can listen to their favorite celebrities and still, get a glimpse of historic people.

In conclusion, it is not easy to change the situation in a short period. it requires time for the young to adopt and acquire knowledge regarding the history of the country.