Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

The critical thoughts of school leavers in learning remains a source of controversy in the field of education. While this situation is ascribed to several factors, there are some measures to give students the positive way to think about studying after graduating.

There are two signficant reasons as to why youngters have low opinion of learning as they stop learning at school. Firstly, schools may fail to provide students with working experience and skills which are their future employers often seek for. A clear explanation is that the school cirriculum in many education systems may include many unnecessary subjects that do not provide any benefits for their jobs prospects and creer progresstion in future. Secondly, teaching methodology may be old-fashioned and uninteresting, such as teacher-lead lessons, rote-learning. Students, as consequence, have the less motivation to study at school, which may leads to the lower academic results.

Some resolutions could be implemented to change the nagetive way that graduates think about learning at school. The first measure is that schools should teach students important working skills, including communication, teamwork and leadership by sending them to workpalces to earn some working experience as a compulsory part of the course. For example, the schools which train in the field of Mining and Geology may corporate with the Mining enterprises to organise field trips to give students opportunity to study in a real environment. The other measure is that chools should introduce modern teaching methods and apply the cutting-edege tecnology in teaching to attract learners’s attention. Interacting learning, student-centred learning or the addition of visual aids in lessons are the greatest methods to enhance students’ feeling about the lessons and subjects.

In conclusion, some factors are conductive to the critical thingking of students after leaving school, such as the scarcity of working skills in lessons or backward teaching methods. To address this situation, there are some effective resolutions, including the supplement actual elective courses in school cirriculum and combining latest methodology and advanced technology in teaching.