The media should include more stories that report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital era, with the quick spread of the mass media, it is suggested by some that journalists and television stations should increase their coverage of more articles containing good news. From my point of view, although the good news is practically beneficial for readers, bad news has its own value which should not be underestimated.

On the one hand, there are two major reasons why citizens prefer to choose meaningful and encouraging stories with a priority on different media channels. To begin with, good news could have positive effects on the community. For instance, an article reporting how a group of students is contributing to environmental preservation through their actions, like picking up the garbage on the street or planting trees, can mean a lot. Thus, readers would feel a sense of admiration towards those making an effort to protect the Earth and feel motivated to do the same. Additionally, these contents of social media help restore our faith in humanity, which will encourage readers to stay optimistic, supportive, and helpful. Furthermore, in the intricate context of the COVID-19 pandemic, people desperately need positive news from the government as vaccines are the only way to eliminate the pandemic and have been deployed to help people get vaccinated. Therefore, people feel more secure, more hopeful, and ready to go back to work and start a new normal life.

On the other hand, adverse news has its own set of benefits, which help individuals to stay aware of problems around them and take appropriate measures. First and foremost, this figure gives humans a deeper view of the present reality. This kind of reporting enables the news to cast light on many of the world's existing problems that need tackling. Without bad news, people may misunderstand certain facts and make the wrong decisions. Moreover, since stories of violence and crime are given priority as the top stories of the day, citizens can grasp the meaning of a law-abiding mindset and gradually stay away from criminal activities associated with taking action to resolve this phenomenon. Another illustration is the increasing reports of plastic and air pollution, which has caused serious damage to all living beings, such as respiratory diseases and climate change. As a result, the government and people might start a movement to restrict the use of plastic products.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that releasing good news articles in the mass media will have benefits and inspire others, I consider that adverse news will illustrate the problems that people do not deal with well. Hence, they can offer suitable measures to solve these drawbacks well.