With many problems of transport and accommodation in cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, the increasingly severe accommodation and transport problems in many metropolitans have caused some governors to consider a new policy. While this trend has some drawbacks, I believe that its benefits are greater.

On the one hand, few disadvantages are arising from the policy of encouraging enterprises to move out of urban areas. First of all, the change of workplaces means young people probably have to change their lifestyles, such as daily routines. Subsequently, people with their families will have to move to suburban areas to live with the lower living conditions, which is not easy to give up. Therefore, the wave of urban-rural business relocation may leave several city-based employees on the verge of unemployment unless these people accept to travel long distances to work. Moreover, some businesses like service companies will have some troubles while moving from urban areas because most of their potentials are in big cities. Furthermore, metropolitan people need more services than rural ones such as health care, convenience store, technologies, and accommodations.

However, I believe that the advantages of such a policy far outweigh the disadvantages. Relocation can tackle the urbanization problem. Once businesses are relocated to the countryside, their employees will not have to seek accommodation in the city center, and the shortage of housing in downtown areas can be mitigated. Another benefit of relocation some companies is to relieve traffic congestion. If this initiative works well, the majority of workers will leave their cars at home and tend to use public transportation such as the metro, bus for cost and time efficiencies because of the long distance from home to office. This also prevents employees from car accidents after a frustrating working day.

In conclusion, I believe that despite having move businesses between urban areas and suburban areas comes with several drawbacks, there are more significant benefits that this method can offer.